The Lonely Solider: The Private War of Women Serving in Iraq

Happy Sunday! However gloomy it might be outside, my spirit still finds it way to the brighter side of life…somewhat, but that requires a whole entire blog post.

In order to further educate myself on military culture, I decided to start reading books that would be able to enlighten me during my journey as a Navy wife. I have always been interested in the role that dogs play in the United States armed forces, especially after hearing that a MWD (military working dog; promise to keep the military jargon to a minimal) helped a group of elite NAVY SEALS take down Osama Bin Laden in May 2011. However, my primary interest was in knowing what the role of women are in the military as stated in an interesting blog post previous to this one. During my research, a certain book had come to my attention and sparked some very intriguing thoughts.

The investigated book by Helen Benedict, The Lonely Soldier: The Private War of Women Serving in Iraq, examines the stories of five women who fought in Iraq between 2003 and 2006. Benedict follows these women all the way from their childhoods to their enlistments, while putting into context the true face of the war in Iraq.

The Lonely Soldier: The Private War of Women Serving in Iraq

I have read the first 2 chapters of the book and I have not been able to put it down. The author uses simple to read language that is both understood by civilians and military personnel. The book serves as a revelation of war and how women are not only fighting to instil foreign freedom, but a war free of sexual abuse, misogynistic military men, and gender degradation. I encourage you all to pick up a copy of Helen Bendict’s Lonely Soldier: The Private War of Women Serving in Iraq available on amazon as well as check out her blog post on Huffington Post. Her book is also available on eReader! Please watch out for my book review coming very soon!

Leave a Reply

