The Future: NARAL & Beyond

With this post I end my summer journey at NARAL and I want to start by thanking those who worked along-side me on all the AHCCP and TORCH projects. I want to thank the interns from Columbia University for helping me learn my new skills and for always giving me constructive feedback when needed; Hannah, Emily, Lindsay, Amanda, and Lily. I also want to thank my mentors Faye and Pauline and for the great work they do and how supportive and flexible they were granted my work school did not allow me to participate as much, but thanks to them I excelled in many of projects. Pauline was gone towards the end of the internship, but she was very pleased with my work and I was happy to have her as a supervisor. Faye was also very exciting to work with and I want to thank her for letting me work with her teens – I had the best time with them. I want to thank Nicole and David for being awesome supporters of the interns and for making orientation and every day after a breeze.

The above people have been instrumental in my learning at NARAL and I am extremely happy with my experience and have really valuable skills to take back with me as I further my career. Currently, I am set to graduate from the Public Health program at Hunter this fall semester and am hoping to my post-baccalaureate at NYU in the summer of 2013. For the first two years of my husband’s active duty in the military I plan to stay in NY as I pursue my second degree, however, medical school will most likely be military school based where ever he is stationed. I want to pursue my career in clinical medicine as I initially planned when attending Long Island University for Athletic Training/Sports Medicine. However, I do want to specialize in international medicine with a strong focus on public health intervention and clinical practice overseas and abroad. Much of my work will focus around access to immunizations and HIV prevention and treatment in children and adolescents. I want to continue working in the public health sector even I am practicing as a medical provider.

My dream was to become a physician – I am finally chasing that dream…

Leave a Reply

